# REPORT OF THE INDEPENDENT PERSONS APPOINTMENT COMMITTEE

## A. APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT PERSONS

#### Introduction

 This report concerns the appointment of three Independent Persons to support the new Member Conduct Complaints Process, in accordance with the Localism Act 2011, its associated regulations and the County Council's Constitution.

### **Background**

- 2. At the last meeting of the County Council, approval was given to changes to the Constitution to take into account changes in legislation. This included changes to the standards regime involving the adoption of a new Code of Conduct and a new framework for dealing with complaints against elected and co-opted Members.
- 3. It is a requirement of the legislation that at least one Independent Person must be appointed, whose view must be sought and taken into account by the Authority before it makes a decision on any allegation and whose views may be sought about allegations. Accordingly, the Monitoring Officer was authorised to take the necessary steps for the appointment of three persons to form a Panel from which an Independent Person can be selected to advise on particular allegations. This was on the basis that a group of elected members would conduct interviews and put forward recommendations to the Council.
- 4. The positions have been advertised and twelve applications were received. Nine people were invited to be interviewed.
- 5. The Appointment Committee met on 6<sup>th</sup> September to interview the candidates and decided to recommend the following three people for appointment:-

Professor David Bonner Mr Gordon Grimes Ms Anita Saigal

David Bonner is a specialist in public law employed at the University of Leicester.

Gordon Grimes a retired Senior Civil Servant who has recently been appointed as an Independent Person by Leicestershire Borough and District Councils and Leicestershire Fire Authority.

Anita Saigal is an experienced public policy professional who has worked in local government, Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Prisons and, most recently, the Independent Police Complaints Commission.

# (Motion to be moved

That Professor D Bonner, Mr D Grimes and Ms A Saigal be appointed to serve as Independent Persons for a term of four years ending on 30 September, 2016.)

6 September 2012

E D Snartt CC Chairman

#### **Background Papers**

Report of the Constitution Committee to the meeting of the County Council on 4<sup>th</sup> July, 2012.